Canada Soccer revealed on Wednesday the format and schedule of the 2022 Canadian Championship competition, which will involve all eight Canadian Premier League clubs as well as the three MLS sides in Canada and the defending champions of League1 Ontario and the Première ligue de soccer du Québec.
This year’s competition will kick off between May 10 and 12, with the final set to be played in July. There will be four rounds of the competition, with 10 sides entering in the first round, and three teams — including 2021 finalists CF Montréal and Toronto FC, and reigning CPL champions Pacific FC — getting byes to the quarter-final stage.
The tournament will consist of single-knockout ties, with the winning club not only earning the Voyageurs’ Cup but also securing a place in the Concacaf Champions League.
With the first round scheduled for the week of May 10-12, the quarter-finals are set to take place between May 24 and 26, with the semi-finals June 21-23 and the final to be played in July.
This year’s Canadian Championship matchups will be decided in a draw, which will be streamed live on Wednesday, March 9. The 13 participating clubs have been split into four geographical pots for the draw, which are listed below as provided by Canada Soccer.
Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Cavalry FC
FC Edmonton
Valour FC
Forge FC
York United FC
Atlético Ottawa
HFX Wanderers FC
Guelph United FC
CS Mont-Royal Outremont
Pacific FC
Toronto FC
CF Montréal


By faress

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.